What’s your body type?

Here is the thing I have against people just picking ANY workout video or regimen. Are you picking them out because a friend tried them and the results turned out great for her, you see the infomercials all the time or do you pick them based off of your body shape.

As we can all see we as women come in many different sizes. Although we all like to be the “perfect” hour glass figure we are not, so doing the same workout as a friend who is clearly built different from you will not come out with beneficial results. You should try picking exercises based on your body shape. Different body shapes gain weight in different areas. For example I have the straight body shape. (Yes, yes, I am a black woman with no curves. 😦 ) When I gain weight it goes straight to my stomach and I get the “potbelly”. Trust me it is not cute. I have a curvy friend who has a “dunk,” so with me trying to add curves to my shape would not benefit her because she is already a curvy woman. With my body shape I would focus more on adding curves by working on my core. Get those abs burning. It will pull the belly and obliques in the sides of the waist. I would also focus on increase weight training to add lean muscle mass to my butt.

I read an article called “Best Workout For Your Body Type” at womenshealthmag.com and it asks you your body type then recommends exercises based off of whichever one you choose. This is an awesome website that I think will help a lot of us get on track with what exercises actually fit the goals we are trying to achieve.

Leave a Reply

